FFE Magazine

Benigno Simeon "Noynoy" Cojuangco Aquino III

Image from the Presidential Museum & Library

15th President of the Philippines

Term of office: June 30, 2010 – present

Vice President: Jejomar C. Binay

Born February 8, 1960

Place: Tarlac

Death: Still living

Benigno Simeon “Noynoy” Cojuangco Aquino III was born on February 8, 1960. His parents were former Sentor Benigno Aquino Jr. and former President Corazon C. Aquino.

Aquino finished his elementary, high school and college education at the Ateneo de MAnila where he obtained a bachelor’s degree in Economics in 1981. After college, his family left the Philippines to live in the United State of America, because his father, who was then detained for charges of rebellion by the government of President Ferdinand Marcos, was permitted to seek treatment in the United States. Aquino and his family returned to the Philippines in 1983, after his father was assassinated at Manila International Airport. In 1986, his mother became president after the historic “People Power Revolution”.

In 1983, after his return to the Philippines, Aquino worked in private corporations until 1993. From 1993 to 1998, Aquino worked for the Central Azucarera de Tarlac.

In 1998 Aquino ran for Congressman and served as representative of the 2nd District of Tarlac until 2007. As Congressman, he passed laws enhancing the effectiveness of public offices and improving the rights of workers and consumers. In May 2007, Noynoy was elected Senator.

When his mother died in 2009, there where calls for him to run for President of the Philippines. To convince him, a million signatures were gathered by Edgardo Roces.

On May 10, 2010, Aquino won the Presidential elections. He took his oath of office on June 30, 2010.

Some of the laws that he immediately signed were the banning of the use of siren or “wangwang” in the streets for no serious reason, and the voiding of “midnight appointments” in government positions. He also established the “Truth Commission” to investigate graft and corruption, and abuses of the government of Pres. Gloria Arroyo.

Aquino is the third president to use his second given name, Simeon, as his middle initial, as Manuel L. Quezon and Jose P. Laurel. He is one of the younger elected presidents after Emilio Aguinaldo (29 years old when elected), Ramon Magsaysay 
(46 years old when elected) and Ferdinand Marcos (48 years old when elected). He is the third president who only holds office but does not reside in Malacanang Palace, following Corazon Aquino and Fidel V. Ramos. He is the first president to make Bahay Pangarap his official residence. He is the first elected president who does not have a wife and children.

(By Charles Keng / The Presidents, Republic of the Philippines by Rheno A. Velasco. 1996)



Leave a Reply


Important Advisory

Happy Regalo Information

Heavenly Matters1

Beauty and Fashion

21mar sidebar2




100-yrs-beauty-4-12-14 - Copy

important advisory


 how they do it




Weather Forecast

Philippine Peso Converter
Philippine and European Times