FFE Magazine

Gloria Macapagal Arroyo

Image from the Presidential Museum & Library

14th President of the Philippines

Term of Office: January 20, 2001 – Present

Vice President: Teofisto Guingona (2001-2004), Noli de Castro (2004-Present)

Birth: April 5, 1947

Place: San Juan, Metro Manila

Death: Still Living

Spouse: Jose Miguel Arroyo

Children: Juan Miguel M. Arroyo, Evangelina Lourdes Arroyo-Bernas, Diosdado Ignacio Jose Maria M. Arroyo

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo or GMA was born on April 5, 1947. Her parents were former President Diosdado Macapagal and Dra. Eva Macaraeg. She grew up in Iligan City.

GMA finished high school as Valedictorian at the Assumption College. She studied at the Georgetown University, Washington, D.C. but she stopped during her third year, when she got married to Jose Miguel Tuazon Arroyo.

She finished her course in Commerce at Assumption College, graduating Magna Cum Laude. She took her Masters Degree in Economics at the Ateneo de Manila University and her Doctorate Degree at the University of the Philippines. She worked as an assistant secretary to President Cory Aquino in 1986, and was later appointed as Undersecretary of the Department of Trade and Industry.

GMA was elected Senator in 1992, and was re-elected in 1995. In 1998, She was elected vice-president of the Philippines, with Joseph Estrada as President. She was appointed as Secretary of Social Welfare and Development, but gave up the position in October 2000 when there was a public clamor for the resignation of President Estrada when some of the top officials of government and Armed Forces of the Philippines withdrew their support for President Estrada who was forced to leave Malacañang on January 21, 2001. GMA was sworn in as the new President. She chose Senator Teofisto Guingona as Vice-President.

Estrada criticized the legitimacy of GMA’s presidency, however it was affirmed by the Supreme Court. She served the unfinished term of Estrada. In 2004, she ran for President and won against the popular actor, Fernando Poe Jr.

In November 2009, Macapagal-Arroyo formally declared her intention to run for Congresswoman in the 2nd district of Pampanga. She is the 2nd Philippine President after Jose P. Laurel to pursue a lower office in the government after his presidency. Her term as President was finished on June 30, 2010.

Gloria Makapagal-Arroyo married Jose Miguel Tuazon Arroyo in 1968. They have three children Mikey, Luli and Dato.

(By Charles Keng / The Presidents, Republic of the Philippines by Rheno A. Velasco. 1996)



Leave a Reply


Important Advisory

Happy Regalo Information

Heavenly Matters1

Beauty and Fashion

21mar sidebar2




100-yrs-beauty-4-12-14 - Copy

important advisory


 how they do it




Weather Forecast

Philippine Peso Converter
Philippine and European Times